



Report Reference Number: C/22/11

To: Special Council Date: 13 December 2022

Author: Gina Mulderrig, Democratic Services Officer

Lead Officer: Janet Waggott, Chief Executive

Title: Appointment of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen

Summary:

It is customary to regularly consider whether any individuals qualify for the title of Honorary Alderman (or Alderwoman as appropriate). Ahead of the dissolution of Selby District Council on 31 March 2023, all previous and current District Councillors are considered for the title. In line with legislation and the Council's previously adopted criteria, Councillors listed in the Recommendations qualify for consideration to be appointed as Honorary Aldermen (or Alderwomen as appropriate) by Selby District Council.

Recommendation:

The Council is asked to consider report C/22/11 and decide whether to confer the title of Honorary Alderman (or Alderwoman as appropriate) on the following current and former District Councillors:

- Donald Bain-Mackay
- Elizabeth Casling
- John Cattanach
- Ian Chilvers
- Mark Crane
- Stephanie Duckett
- Cliff Lunn
- John Mackman
- Brian Marshall
- Chris Metcalfe
- Wendy Nichols
- Robert Packham
- Chris Pearson
- Steve Shaw-Wright

- Richard Sweeting
- Anthony Thurlow

Reasons for recommendation:

To ensure Council recognises individuals who have rendered eminent services to the Council.

1. Introduction and background

- 1.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 states that the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman may be conferred by the District Council on persons who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the Council. For the title to be conferred a specially convened meeting of Council must be held and a resolution must be passed by not less than two thirds of the Councillors voting at the Council meeting. Although the original Act did not mention the title of Honorary Alderwoman, this was introduced in the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.
- 1.2 In addition to the legislation, the Council adopted criteria in February 1984 which stated that a Councillor would have to have provided 25 years' service to the Council to qualify for consideration for appointment to the position of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman. The criteria was then discounted by one year in respect of each year the individual served as Chairman of the Council.
- 1.3 The first Honorary Alderman was appointed at a special meeting on 24 May 1984. A full list of individuals who have been conferred with the honour can be seen at Appendix A.
- 1.4 In August 1999, the Council resolved to reduce the length of service threshold from 25 years to 20 years.

2. Proposed Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen

- 2.1 The list of proposed Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen is attached at Appendix B.
- 2.2 Due to local government reorganisation, the Local Government (Structural Changes) (Transitional Arrangements) (No.2) Regulations 2008, Regulation 32 applies and means that Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen appointed to Selby District Council will on the 1st April 2023 become Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen of the new North Yorkshire Council.
- 2.3 The 1972 Act at Section 249 (2) applies and means that any person appointed as Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman and still serving as a Councillor at Selby District Council (or North Yorkshire Council post April 2023) shall not be entitled to be addressed as Alderman or Alderwoman and shall not take part in any civic ceremonies of Selby District Council or the new North Yorkshire Council post April 2023 in that role.

- 2.4 The 1972 Act at Section 249(3) means that eminent service rendered to Selby District Council will be treated as service to the new North Yorkshire Council for the purpose of conferring the title of Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen.
- 2.5 The Council is invited to consider the list of persons at Appendix B and resolve to confer the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman on those who have rendered eminent service to Selby District Council.

3. Alternative Options Considered

Not appointing Aldermen or Alderwomen would fail to recognise the eminent service of the Councillors on the dissolution of Selby District Council.

4. Implications

4.1 Legal Implications

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 outlines the requirements and the process for appointing Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen. Ordinarily serving Councillors cannot be appointed as Honorary Aldermen under this provision. However, as the Council is subject to local government reorganisation, the Local Government (Structural Changes) (Transitional Arrangements) (No.2) Regulations 2008 No. 2867 permit serving Councillors to be appointed as Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen.

4.2 Financial Implications

There are costs associated with purchasing a certificate and a plaque to be given to anyone appointed and costs of catering a reception following any appointments. These costs will be met from the Democratic Services budget.

4.3 Policy and Risk Implications

Not applicable.

4.4 Corporate Plan Implications

Not applicable.

4.5 Resource Implications

Not applicable.

4.6 Other Implications

Not applicable.

4.7 Equalities Impact Assessment

Not applicable.

5. Conclusion

5.1 The Council can consider whether to confer the title of Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman upon former and current Councillors listed in the recommendation in recognition of the eminent service to the District Council that they have rendered and their length of service. For the honours to be approved Councillors will have to vote with a two thirds majority at the meeting for a resolution to that effect.

6. Background Documents

None.

7. Appendices

Appendix A – List of Individuals who have been conferred with the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman

Appendix B - List of Individuals to be considered and their length of service including role as Chair

Contact Officer:

Gina Mulderrig, Democratic Services Officer gmulderrig@Selby.gov.uk 01757 292116